Quick Fixes for PMS

My go-to remedy for PMS and menstrual cramps is this Clary Calm Blend. I tried to recreate dōTERRA Clary Calm, which has come highly recommended, but I didn’t have all of the oils in this, so I just worked with what I had. I substituted Cardamom for the Fennel, Carrot Seed, Palmarosa and Vitex. Cardamom is known for easing muscle cramps and nausea, as well as alleviating depression and fatigue, making it a perfect addition to this “monthly” blend.

The real star of this blend, though, is Clary Sage. This precious oil has been used for centuries to balance hormones, due to its rare sclareol content. “Sclareol, a diterpene alcohol, is very similar to the chemical structure of the hormones produced in the human body. Therefore, clary sage stimulates our bodies to produce more hormones and thus has a balancing effect for both men and women.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 I have found it effective for moodiness, including anxiety, anger, fatigue, and mild depression. It’s best to diffuse the oil for this purpose, but I like to keep a roll-on with me. Apply like a perfume and the calming scent will linger around you. Simply roll it around your wrist a few times and rub your wrists together. You can always sniff your wrist for a quick burst of delicious serenity. When I need an extra burst, I’ll roll on my chest and neck, as well.

I have also found this blend to be helpful for cramps. I use the roll-on to apply some to my abdomen, where I am cramping, then apply a warm compress or heating pad. I also like to put a bit on my abdomen and the bottoms of my feet before bed to keep cramps at bay while I’m sleeping. There’s nothing worse than waking up with cramps at 2 a.m.

Bonus:

For those pesky acne breakouts, try Lavender or Melaleuca topically for spot treatment. I also recommend mixing a few drops Geranium into your moisturizer. It acts as a toner and keeps your face from breaking out to begin with!

Be well!

Leave a Reply

